Five Reasons You Should Be Reading With Bae

My favorite thing to do with my husband as a couple is to read together

(NERD ALERT.)

When we were still dating, I took an English class where the professor told us that the secret to a happy and successful marriage was to read out loud to each other. (Side note, this professor had a two pronged hook instead of a hand that could open and close to hold things. No joke. Watching him write on the white board was mesmerizing.) I really REALLY dislike the sound of my own voice, so I threw the “out loud” bit out the window (hopefully that wasn’t where the magic happened…) and asked my then boyfriend to re-read the Harry Potter series with me. He agreed, because he’s seriously the best person. I couldn’t believe how much fun it was to go through one of my favorite alternate universes with one of my favorite people. We’ve since repeated the experience several times, and although we aren’t able to regularly at this point in our lives, I still consider it one of my favorite things to do with him for the following reasons.

1. It gives you an endless number of conversation topics.

It was so much fun to sit and talk about books as we read them. We’d set a page limit for ourselves and end the day talking about what we’d read so far. Doing so brought up so many issues and conversations that stemmed from topics in the book we were reading that I can’t imagine coming up organically any other way. It was a really fun way to get to know each other even better.

2. It allows you to spend quality time together, even when you’re apart.

When we were still dating, I was going to school in another city and my guy had to do some traveling for work. There would be days when we didn’t get to see each other, but it still felt like we were spending quality time together any time I cracked open the book we were reading. Knowing he was reading it too made me think about him and his possible perspective of what I was also reading in a way few other things could without his physical presence.

3. It’s a great way to show interest in what interests your significant other.

I’m pretty lucky, for the most part my husband and I like a lot of the same things. But taking turns choosing a book to read together was a really enjoyable way of learning about the things that he finds interesting, and vice versa. Plus you take turns, so even if his hobby really is just god awful, you can get him back by forcing Nicholas Sparks on him (please, for the sake of all that is holy, don’t read Nicholas Sparks). ((Just kidding, read anything you like. Judging people for what the read is seriously stupid.)

4. Nerding out together is the best.

The only thing better than reading an epic plot twist is sharing it with someone you love.

5. You have a whole new arsenal of literary references and inside jokes at your disposal.

It’s the best.

Now go grab that someone special in your life and tell him/her/it it’s time to dig into some books together! It’s been one of my absolute favorite parts of my relationship with my husband.

Cheers,

Taylor

Leave a Reply

